dorm frig / batt power ??? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2014, 01:55 PM   #1

Name: Andrew
Trailer: Amerigo
Indiana
dorm frig / batt power ???

Dorm frig powered by a battery
I am sure you can do it but the big questions is....can you it be done efficiently?
I am new to the world to electrical system in campers and have taken on the project of a complete remodel of a Amerigo. So I am green and have one questions that will surely lead to more LOL
I am planning in wiring my plug from truck to camper with a wire to charge the on board battery. Can this be done? I am also sure I will need a inverter and thinking the size I would need would be at least 2000 does that sound right? inturn will that allow me to run the dorm frig? how many battery's would I need for this 1 or 2 and what size? any help would be great!!!
hotrodaj31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 02:49 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
You have actually asked a number of questions. I'll try to address a few of them:

1. It's "Normal" to have a charging line running from your TV to your coach. It's best to include at least a circuit breaker in the line within the TV as well as a battery isolation so you won't have to unplug from your TV when parking connected overnight. In the case of the wiring, the heavier the better, a #8 usually does the trick, but you have to have an equally heavy ground wire as well.

2. If you ever want to run the refrigerator on 12 VDC you will need a inverter. Depending on how much the refrigerator and inverter draws in current, you may be able to run the refrigerator while driving. But that's a big Maybe...

3. Inverter size is dependent on your load, but you may not need a 2000 watt inverter. Check the draw of the refrigerator on it's info plate.