Electrical problems with a 1979 Jubilee Trillium - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-19-2014, 09:15 PM   #1

Name: Kelli
Trailer: Trillium
Nova Scotia
Electrical problems with a 1979 Jubilee Trillium

Hello
I am new to the trailer world and I have just purchased a 1979 Jubilee Trillium. I am having issues with my trailers electrical system. When I plug my trailer into an electrical outlet and I push in the knob on the converter I hear buzzing. The plug on the converter works but nothing else in the trailer does (Lights/fridge). The trailer was left out all winter, Is the battery still good? How do I run the fridge with out using propane? I am quite lost as to what to do, so any advice would be welcome
Attached Thumbnails
photo.jpg  
Leonard31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:57 PM   #2

Name: Francesca Knowles
Trailer: '78 Trillium 4500
Jefferson County, Washington State, U.S.A.
Registry
First question I'd ask is the make/model of the converter. I don't understand which "knob" you're talking about pushing in, so presume the unit is different from that in my 1978 Trillium. Mine has a three-position switch on the front that governs what powers the 12v interior lights etc. None will work if the switch is in the wrong position. Taking a shot in the dark: most converters from that era have fuses- yours may be blown. It would be normal for the 120v outlet to continue to operate in that circumstance since it's not related to 12v power.

Next:
The refrigerator at least should work on shorepower since it's likely plugged in to an ordinary outlet wired directly to the trailer circuit breaker. It has to be manually switched to 120v for that to happen, though. There should be a control panel at the bottom of the fridge for that purpose.

Note:

Since there's power to/at the converter, I'm presuming that ALL 110v oulets are working in the trailer.