Electrical System Questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2016, 02:45 PM   #1

Name: Lise
Trailer: Boler
Washington
Registry
Electrical System Questions

Please bear with me as I am a novice learning about my trailer's electrical system. I know it needs work and plan to be safe and conservative in working on it.

I am currently focused on the shore power system. It is a 1977 Boler 1700 with updates to the electrical system.

My shore power plug is shorted out. I want to be sure I get the proper replacement plug, and address the reason(s) it shorted out.

The PO put in a new Power Center. I have the manual, it is a WFCO ULTRA Power Center Model WF-8735P. According to Google it is a 35 Amp Power Center. Although it is an ULTRA not ULTRA III, this online manual looks the same: http://wfcoelectronics.com/wp-conten...tor-Manual.pdf

The shore power plug is a male three prong plug (like a household appliance). The cord is black and says: "Type ST 600V outdoor cord.

Photos attached.

PS: I have seen and am considering the modification of replacing the shore power cord with a shore power plug that others on this site have done. I am not ready to do that yet so plan to stick with a cord for now. I do want to be sure I have the proper cord type and install the correct plug.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_7456.JPG   IMG_7448.JPG  

IMG_7449.JPG   FullSizeRender.jpg  

Old 08-14-2016, 02:50 PM   #2

Name: Carl
Trailer: 2015 Escape 5.0TA
Florida
Lise, do you have any specific question(s) to ask?

Sent from my iPhone using Fiberglass RV
Old 08-14-2016, 03:26 PM   #3

Washington
Registry
Ha, here's my questions:

Does the fact that my power center is 35 amp mean that I need/can use a 30 amp shore power cord for my Boler?

Is there a possible connection between it shorting out (and looking burnt) and the power center, or other thoughts on why it shorted?

Lise