I need soft start help - Fiberglass RV
Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2021, 01:49 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
I need soft start help

I am installing a soft start unit in a 2017 Scamp and after watching several videos and placing the order, none of the videos were like mine. Any one know of a video for the install on a newer 13,500 Dometic? Pictured is the only place I see that it will fit. EVERYTHING is foam covered and I do not want to disturb the foam.
Attached Thumbnails
AC1.jpg   AC.jpg  

AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 02:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Name: You can't call me Al
Trailer: Scamp
Massachusetts
Posts: 207
That looks like an OK place to install it.
Maybe flip it over so you can see the LEDs.
AlanKilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 03:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
Too bad...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanKilian View Post
That looks like an OK place to install it.
Maybe flip it over so you can see the LEDs.
... to install a well designed nice looking product "bacK out" so the nice clear cover and label will not show, but will do.
TNX qc0gv
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 04:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
No micro air video for a newer Scamp??

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC0GV View Post
I am installing a soft start unit in a 2017 Scamp and after watching several videos and placing the order, none of the videos were like mine. Any one know of a video for the install on a newer 13,500 Dometic? Pictured is the only place I see that it will fit. EVERYTHING is foam covered and I do not want to disturb the foam.
i have spent the past hour looking at videos done by people that to not know the difference between the compressor and the capacitor. And none are for the newer Dometic 13,500 BTU that I have. Time to re-invent the wheel??

Any one know of a video?0
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 04:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
MyronL's Avatar
 
Name: Myron
Trailer: Escape
New Mexico
Posts: 934
Registry
Did you watch my u-tube video installing an easy start to my Dometic 11,000 btu AC?
I cannot imagine there would be much of a different position for attaching the thing.

https://youtu.be/I9AmXfKwrjo
Attached Thumbnails
EasyStart2.jpg  
MyronL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 05:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
Thanks, I'll watch it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MyronL View Post
Did you watch my u-tube video installing an easy start to my Dometic 11,000 btu AC?
I cannot imagine there would be much of a different position for attaching the thing.

https://youtu.be/I9AmXfKwrjo
Yes, your video has the correct number of wires, and note that the loose wire nut was a crimp connector. Scamp used lots of wire nuts in the past and many came loose. Thanks and back to the roof!

I have almost no room, but this site may have the answer also.
http://www.micro-air.com/support-doc...ily_RV_ACs.pdf
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 07:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
Hot side hot and the cold side cold

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC0GV View Post
Yes, your video has the correct number of wires, and note that the loose wire nut was a crimp connector. Scamp used lots of wire nuts in the past and many came loose. Thanks and back to the roof!

I have almost no room, but this site may have the answer also.
http://www.micro-air.com/support-doc...ily_RV_ACs.pdf
That URL led to fantastic information. I had ordered the install kit with the soft start, and while I had most of the parts left over, I was glad I had it. It came with one grommet and I would have liked three. I seldom follow instructions and mounted it different than the instructions. I have watched adhesives fail many times and the zip ties were white and they NEVER last long term, so I wanted stainless steel bolts. Below is the mounting picture in the instructions. Best I can tell, my unit requires no learning cycle, but I will investigate that more. It was quite an easy install, but watch out for the cover, it is FRAGILE to say the least. I cracked it just lifting it off. I may put a 1Ē strip of fiber glass mesh around the inside when I run out of things to do.
Attached Thumbnails
soft start mount.png  
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 02:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Name: Dick
Trailer: '15 17' LD Casita and '17 Tahoe LT
Texas
Posts: 292
My understanding is that those made since about '15 come with a hard start already part of the unit. Might be worth checking around.
dmad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 02:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
WaltP's Avatar
 
Name: Walter
Trailer: 2017 Escape 17B
SW Virginia
Posts: 2,008
A bit late now, but Lowes has stainless steel zip ties that come in very handy for permanent installations.

Walt
__________________
Past owner of 1995 13' Casita, 1994 16' Casita, 2012 Parkliner, 2002 17' Bigfoot.
WaltP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 02:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
Good question

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmad1 View Post
My understanding is that those made since about '15 come with a hard start already part of the unit. Might be worth checking around.
Mine shows a locked rotor amps of 68 and I have still been running it on a 2200 Honda. The company lists it for the Brisk air II. I have not hooked my meter to it and do not know if my meter will even show the LRA. At one time I think Scamp said the "new" A/C could be run on a 2000 honda and then for some reason they quit saying that. The big problem is playing with the thermostat and starting the compressor against pressure. Hands off the t stat I think it would be OK.
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 02:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
I forgot about them

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltP View Post
A bit late now, but Lowes has stainless steel zip ties that come in very handy for permanent installations.

Walt
It will help others that follow. Note also that LOWES is not alowd in my area, John Menard lives just down the road.
TNX
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 03:17 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
WaltP's Avatar
 
Name: Walter
Trailer: 2017 Escape 17B
SW Virginia
Posts: 2,008

But of course they are also available on Amazon.

Walt
__________________
Past owner of 1995 13' Casita, 1994 16' Casita, 2012 Parkliner, 2002 17' Bigfoot.
WaltP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 12:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
Kill A Watt meter

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC0GV View Post
Mine shows a locked rotor amps of 68 and I have still been running it on a 2200 Honda. The company lists it for the Brisk air II. I have not hooked my meter to it and do not know if my meter will even show the LRA. At one time I think Scamp said the "new" A/C could be run on a 2000 honda and then for some reason they quit saying that. The big problem is playing with the thermostat and starting the compressor against pressure. Hands off the t stat I think it would be OK.
I got out the Kill a Watt meter and I think it is to slow to get a start reading. It shows less than 14 amps to start and that would be very low. Run current was under 13 amps and fan only was under 4 amps. Idle current on the Scamp was under 0.3 amps.
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 01:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Posts: 4,603
I would think the only way you are going to measure locked rotator amps is with an oscilloscope since the amount of time it exists is measure in milliseconds.
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2021, 11:34 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Trailer: Scamp
Posts: 14
find an electrician or HVAC tech, they will have a tool to measure amps. If you want to buy one, Amprobe or Fluke are accurate and reliable. They will measure start/run amps as well as several other functions. The right tools are a safer way to work.
JMolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2021, 12:05 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Trailer: Scamp
Posts: 23
My ac in 05 19 starts w/o the soft start. Start AC with fan off, then fan on.
barrry smithe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2021, 01:38 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Jon Vermilye's Avatar
 
Name: Jon
Trailer: 2017 Escape 21
Oswego, NY
Posts: 2,138
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMolak View Post
find an electrician or HVAC tech, they will have a tool to measure amps. If you want to buy one, Amprobe or Fluke are accurate and reliable. They will measure start/run amps as well as several other functions. The right tools are a safer way to work.
While Amprobe & Fluke make great meters (I have an Amprobe clamp on AC/DC meter), only some models can measure start up amperage. If that is what you want to measure, be sure to carefully read the specifications.
Jon Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2021, 03:39 PM   #18
Member
 
Name: Pete
Trailer: Casita
Georgia
Posts: 71
Registry
Are you differentiating between "Easy Start", "soft start", and "hard start"?
pete_britt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2021, 07:25 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
AC0GV's Avatar
 
Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Posts: 1,050
Registry
Micro Air easy start

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete_britt View Post
Are you differentiating between "Easy Start", "soft start", and "hard start"?
This tread was about installing Micro Air easy start, that I thought was a softy start.It has a clear case, and 4 wires. Went fine AFTER I found the correct instructions for my A/C. I do not know that a hard start would help over coming a small generator.

The EasyStart requires some moderately complicated wiring modifications that may be beyond the scope of the average RVr..
Attached Thumbnails
easy start.jpg  
AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scamp


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soft Start AC George n Mary Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 17 02-06-2021 12:55 PM
AC Soft Start install jgilliam1955 Care and Feeding of Molded Fiberglass Trailers 18 09-18-2019 05:16 AM
Soft Start device for AC units. NOT a capacitor! Joe Romas Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 24 08-23-2017 01:31 PM
Help! Cant find flint lighter knob need to start my fridge now! wolfandfinch Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 16 07-08-2013 11:01 AM
Soft tonneau cover for pickup trucks. Legacy Posts Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 0 10-25-2002 09:58 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.