Lights went out - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-01-2014, 10:08 PM   #1

Name: Jeff
Trailer: Boler
Idaho
Lights went out

So I grabbed a metal cup from my cabinet just now, and it hit one of the wires that either goes to the cigarette lighter or the dome style light. When it touched the wire all my lights and the stereo went out. I am an electrical novice. I don't think there's a fuse to check. The only fuses I see are on my solar and my furnace.

First question is...Do you have any idea what I did so I don't do this in the future? Second question....What's my steps to find/fix the problem?

Thanks.
brownrecluse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 10:19 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
Gotta say, unless someone has removed it there has to be a fuse. Sounds like it's time to find the little bugger.
After it's fixed you might want to build some kind of a small barrier behind those wires so this doesn't happen again.

Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 10:19 PM   #3

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
I'm sure how your boler is wired, but my Scamp came new with a fuse inside the box, on top of the battery. There was another fuse under the curb side goucho. Both of those are in line with the main battery power.
If not there there should be a fuse panel someplace. Usually attached to the converter, if you have one.
Old 12-01-2014, 10:33 PM   #4

Idaho
I forgot to mention that we did a complete remodel a couple years ago. New Axle, frame off, windows rebuilt, re-fiberglassed, etc. And at the same time we completely rewired everything. Nothing is stock. I had a professional do the electrical hookup after I pulled the wires. There aren't any fuses except for the furnace and solar.
Old 12-01-2014, 10:57 PM   #5