Looking for easy Renogy suitcase connection - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2022, 03:25 PM   #1

Name: Diane
Trailer: Scamp 13’
Wisconsin
Looking for easy Renogy suitcase connection

I bought a Renogy 100W suitcase, which comes with a cable with alligator clips to connect to the battery. Anyone come up with a quicker, easier way to make the connection, preferably without having to open the battery box?
I must admit I have no electrical experience, and am somewhat afraid of electrical work, so I would prefer to buy equipment that is plug-and-play rather than having to do any wiring myself.
sunnyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 03:49 PM   #2

Name: You can't call me Al
Trailer: SOLD: 1977 Scamp 13'
Massachusetts
I'm not 100% sure what renogy model you have, but from what I see in the web, maybe you need a "MC4-to-SAE" and an "SAE-to-Ring"

https://www.amazon.com/Vemote-Connec.../dp/B08ZHX51D4

https://www.amazon.com/SUNER-POWER-W.../dp/B09CDBK3NM

You could then leave everything connected and disconnect at the "SAE" connector.
AlanKilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 04:51 PM   #3

Name: Diane
Trailer: Scamp 13’
Wisconsin
It’s an Eclipse 100W suitcase, and it does have MC4 connectors, so looks like those cables would work.
sunnyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 05:01 PM   #4

Name: Shelby
Trailer: Casita SD
Tennessee
That's a good plan. I made similar connectors for my suitcase but would have just bought some if I'd known they were available. I fish the cable through a vent in the bottom of the cave, don't have to leave the door open when connected.
ShelbyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2022, 06:56 PM   #5

Name: Joel
Texas
You could connect your suitcase to the charging + and - pins on a 7-pin hitch receptacle, and then use it with your Scamp's 7-pin plug.