Max 30 amp extension cord length - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-06-2019, 06:49 PM   #1

Name: Biker
Trailer: 2018 Bigfoot 21' 25B21FB (PREV: Casita 17' Spirit Deluxe)
North Carolina
Max 30 amp extension cord length

Hello,

What is the max length for 30 amp extension cord with full RV electrical functionality (AC, lights, water pump, etc)?

I am not an electrician so any pointers, guidelines, warnings, restrictions, it depends, etc are greatly appreciated.

Thank you
biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:21 PM   #2

Name: Laura
Trailer: Escape 21' 2nd Gen, picked up on Black Friday 2016
Washington
Mine is 25'. It's a removable power cord. I also have another one the same length as there was at least one spot I stayed in last year where the cord barely reached and that was after moving the trailer a bit closer (but couldn't get too much closer due to the trees). Of course, I've not needed it (purchased after that trip), but it's there in case I do need it.

I just looked and Amazon also sells a 50' 30 amp extension cord, as well as a 30'. Normally you shouldn't need that much at campsites. Wish they had 10 footers as sometimes that's all you need!

www.UnderKittySupervision.com
NW Cat Owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:41 PM   #3

Trailer: Casita Spirit Deluxe 2003 16 ft
Registry
It depends how how much voltage drop you're prepared to accept. How much you'll accept might depend on how much voltage drop the A/C will accept before doing damage to the motor (brown out).

Voltage drop is a function of amperage the line is carrying, the wire Gauge (i.e. it's resistance) and the round trip length (some formulas account for this so the details are in the footnotes.) Legit 30A plugs usually have 10 ga wire.