Possible to go 12v only? - Page 2 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2015, 07:51 PM   #21

Name: Cathy
Trailer: Escape 19' sold, 21' August 2015
POBox 1267, Denison, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bster13 View Post
When I say appliances, it's mostly electronics I suppose... android smartphone, android tablet, camera, etc. Probably a fan to move some air as well.

I am thinking of a 16ft Scamp/Casita with a 250 watt panel and a battery or two(obviously I have not calculated my actual load needs and I'm very new to this).

I didn't realize a fan on a heater (or using a 12v fan during the summer?) would drain the batteries significantly. Could I keep the heater & fan off and just use a Heater Buddy (http://tinyurl.com/oc25ram) in such a small space?

A Maxx fan is excellent to remove a good deal of heat from a trailer and it does not use a lot of power but depends on what you have as to how much you can use it. 12V fans are also available.

With a 150-watt solar panel and two 6-volt batteries, you can run anything but the A/C. Maxx fan, no problem. High-draw items such as a hair dryer on low or maybe medium or a microwave can be run for short periods with a 1500-watt inverter or greater.
Cathi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 08:45 PM   #22

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
I like my A/C and "need" it to enjoy camping a lot of the time (summers, kid out of school) I have available to actually go. As to inverters, remember that for some things direct 12V power supplies are available. For instance, there is a 12V to 19.2V (I think) inverter for my laptop that would be more efficient than 12V to 120V back down to 19.2V. May or may not make a difference but is another way to go.
Timber Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 10:12 PM   #23

Trailer: 93 Burro 17 ft