RV Battery Question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2022, 10:41 PM   #1

Name: Willy
Trailer: Bigfoot
Alberta
RV Battery Question

Hey all. So I am brand new to RV's. I recently purchased a 1979 Bigfoot. There were no batteries connected when I bought it but it came with a few inside disconnected.

My question(s) are:

1.) Do I just connect a 12v car battery to the terminals (they're there by the propane tanks) and it should theoretically power the lights etc inside and charge off my truck? As well how do I check the 12v from my 7 pin from my truck is charging on the trailer side? (Tested truck side already and it seems to be working)

2.) My purchase came with a Gel Battery and a regular battery, can I wire them parallel on the unit? I also got some solar panels and charger so I'm wondering if the gel was just for that, or will it work for both?

Thanks in advance any insight is appreciated!
WillyBigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2022, 10:54 PM   #2

Name: Mike
Trailer: In the Market
Alaska
You test it with a no contact voltage/current meter to see how many amps of charge it is getting or not. Yes you can wire them in parallel but charge them separately first to make sure they charge to the same voltage (capacity). Otherwise one might be more worn than the other and will damage the good battery.

I'd suggest a walmart marine battery if you need to replace one for cheap. They are just as good as an agm battery. Otherwise cheapest option for lots of battery storage is a pair of golf cart batteries. See if there is a place called Batteries Plus near you. They sell Duracell 6v golf cart batteries for a good price. Standard is Trojan T105 batteries. You need 2 or 4 because they are 6v. It will give you a lot of power. Get a mppt charge controller and solar. I suggest victron w/ bluetooth.
RollinMike is offline   Reply With Quote