Solar Panels Opinions needed - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2022, 07:40 PM   #1

Name: Lauri
Trailer: In the market
Pennsylvania
Solar Panels Opinions needed

Hey guys..

Pretty much a newbie here, bought a 2022 Casita 17' Spirit Deluxe a couple of months before. I’m considering attaching a solar panel to the top of my trailer. I read hell lots of customer reviews of each panel but there are so many of them I’m kinda lost lol..

Anyway, I’ve decided to find one or two flexible panels on it, the reason why I decided to get them instead of rigid one is that I don’t want too much weight on my top. But I also read that many of the flexible solar panels seem to fail within 2~ 4 years. So I’m wondering if you guys could share me with some stories about your experience using flexible solar panels..Is it really worth what it costs?

Thank you in advance!
LauriMarrkanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2022, 08:37 PM   #2

Name: steve and teresa
Trailer: Scamp 16 Layout #6
Michigan
See post link below from previous discussion on this topic

"Flexible Panels - GP-FLEX-200"
https://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/...P%2DFLEX%2D200
Scamp 16 side dinette Layout #6 2005
Ford Flex 2019
Steve.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2022, 10:11 PM   #3

Name: John
Trailer: Roamer 1
Smith Valley, Nevada
My experience with flexible solar panels is that they do not perform as advertised. Not just in my case, but with others too. I tore mine off and threw them away, then went with conventional panels and am very happy.

If you do go with flexible, and you use VHB tape to mount them, you will likely do damage to the roof trying to remove them later. So again, rigid panels with brackets are better, even if they don't match the curve of the roof.