Storage solar for scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-19-2020, 11:05 AM   #1

Name: Scott
Trailer: Scamp - Gently Used
Kentucky
Storage solar for scamp

Solar newbie here. I would like a quick setup solar option for my scamp when it’s at the storage facility. We don’t need to live off solar as we don’t boondock that often. What do I need for preferably a quick connect and disconnect for battery health during times of storage.
Thanks,
Rogue
Old 01-19-2020, 12:35 PM   #2

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
How long will it be stored? What temperatures?

Chances are you can simply charge the battery, then disconnect it (with a switch or by removing the cable), and you will be fine for many months.

If you must continue for use a fan for ventilation or something like that, than solar charging in storage might be a good idea. But then you have to think about theft, occasionally cleaning off the panel, etc. Unless its a very very safe place you likely would want it permanently mounted on the roof.

But if the battery is disconnected, then the rate of self discharge is usually so low that you can go months before recharging.
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 09:24 PM   #3

Trailer: 2005 16 ft Scamp Side Dinette and 2005 Fleetwood (Coleman) Taos pop-up / 2004 Dodge Dakota QuadCab and 2008 Subaru Outback
Registry
Coleman used to have a small solar unit for maintaining your battery that was placed on top of your air conditioner. Seems like it shouldn't be too hard to get a small panel and place it up there.
We actually have a 90 watt panel permanently mounted on top of our Scamp.
Attached Thumbnails
2016_08_28_10_37_48_HDR.jpg  
radar1-scamping.blogspot.com
Radar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 06:13 AM   #4

Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Registry