Total Newbie Question: Battery Charging? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-29-2016, 11:28 AM   #1

Name: Jennifer
Trailer: Scamp
Colorado
Total Newbie Question: Battery Charging?

Hi. It seems there is a lot to know about batteries and electrical systems. I had no idea. I'm told that if I don't want my battery to fail, I need a device to keep it charged at home. What do I need?
Jennifer in Denver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2016, 11:42 AM   #2

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jennifer in Denver View Post
Hi. It seems there is a lot to know about batteries and electrical systems. I had no idea. I'm told that if I don't want my battery to fail, I need a device to keep it charged at home. What do I need?

There's several brands of battery maintainers, Battery Tender, Battery Maintainer, Battery Keeper. All work quite well in my experience. They're not very expensive.
You also need to check the liquid level in your battery once in a while. I check my once a year and top each cell off as necessary with distilled water.
Old 09-29-2016, 12:59 PM   #3

Trailer: 1972 Boler American and 1979 Trillium 4500
I've been using the one I've had for years to charge car batteries. One day, I'll install the other type in the trailer.

I also have a solar setup, rarely use it though.

This book will tell you everything you need to know and more.
https://www.amazon.com/Managing-12-V.../dp/0964738627
Roy in TO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 11:44 AM   #4

Name: Marilyn
Trailer: 13 ft 2005 Scamp Deluxe; 2002 Subaru V6 Outback
Oregon
Hi, Jennifer;
I, too, am a battery novice. Bought a battery tender jr, which has worked well for me. I take the battery out of trailer before winter storage, put it in the garage and hook it up to the battery tender junior. That's as easy as it gets. Ordered it from Amazon.
M Scott is offline   Reply With Quote