Using 7 Post Junction Box - Fiberglass RV
RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2020, 07:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Name: Brett
Trailer: 2000 Scamp 19'
Virginia
Posts: 50
Using 7 Post Junction Box

I'm wiring in a propane detector near the front end of my 19' Scamp, close to where the wires enter my camper from the battery and the 7-way plug. The previous wiring was done by tapping into existing lines with T-tap wire connectors, but I've heard those aren't the most reliable. Unfortunately, I'm having trouble finding a solution to this with heat shrink connectors that can tap into existing wires. So, my question is this: I have a 7-post junction box from Scamp. I originally got it to organize the wires coming from my 7-way plug, but could I use it to connect multiple (5ish) wires with ring terminals on a single post? It seems like it would work, in theory, I just have never done it and don't know if there are any safety issues that I don't know about. Thanks!
brettrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 12:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Posts: 4,426
I would not use five.. two, MAYBE three.. no more. Thats just me... but see:
Wiring Practices: Terminal Posts: Stacking Ring Terminals - Moderated Discussion Areas

You dont have a fuse panel where you can add a single fused line for the propane alarm? If not you might want to split you circuirts with this or something similar.
https://www.bluesea.com/products/502..._Bus_and_Cover
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 12:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Trailer: 2009 17 ft Casita Freedom Deluxe
Posts: 773
I prefer that approach over t or y connectors. Using thec7-connector box is kind of overkill although I used one of those when I converted to the 7-pin connector.

I used one post for ground and one for hot for my circuits when I rewired the interior.

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Dave Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 04:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Name: Lynn
Trailer: '06 Scamp 16
Rochester, New York
Posts: 153
A propane detector uses extremely little power so I wouldn't be concerned about adding it to an already used connector. Just use a meter to make sure you've got a correct positive and negative and go for it.
Lynn Eberhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 07:31 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Posts: 4,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynn Eberhardt View Post
A propane detector uses extremely little power so I wouldn't be concerned about adding it to an already used connector. ....
Its not the total current.. its the multiple ring terminals which must pass the majority of the current from the post to ring terminal to ring terminal to ring terminal (maybe five times?) and eventually to the nut via the threads. More points of possible failure. Say your propane detector was the first ring terminal on a post, and the next one was a high load device.. the first one might get corroded and then there is high resistance to the high load device. That means heat. Or if they are not the same size.. then the current limits change. But mostly the multiple terminals just lead to a higher chance of them becoming loose.
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2020, 12:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Joe MacDonald's Avatar
 
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Posts: 961
clean every ring terminal before putting on the post, then stack them, tighten well, and it should not be an issue, alternatively there are these neat little things called terminal blocks( ok; sarcasm off) available at electrical suppliers and automotive outlets, that allow you to get to the same end result, but neater, and more professionally. When I got my Mule, it had as many as 8 ring terminals under the same stud, came from an underground mine, the frame was finished, but the electrical still worked.

joe
Joe MacDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 11:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: Scamp 13
California
Posts: 1,884
You could use the connection box but make sure the connectors sit flat against each other use a washer between them if you have to. I would also put an inline fuse and a on and off switch in the line so you can turn it off when your not using your trailer so it doesnt drain the battery when not being used. If you keep your trailer on a battery maintainer you don't need the switch. the switch becomes problematic as the detector doesnt work if you forget to turn it on when you go camping.
stevebaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Junction box for cable LCarlson Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 6 06-18-2020 04:52 PM
Trillium 1300 cloaet junction box question Trillium-Pettis Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 2 06-16-2015 09:01 AM
13' fiberglass travel trailer-Junction City, OR Greg A Classified Archives 1 11-12-2008 10:47 PM
SOLD - 16 Casita SD 2002-Grand Junction, CO Greg A Classified Archives 4 06-23-2008 02:09 PM
SOLD - 1999 Scamp Travel Trailer - Grand Junction, CO Greg A Classified Archives 2 01-23-2008 10:25 AM

» Trailer Showcase

Rucio

jen b

Trillium

Lise S
» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.