Questions about Scamp Water/Waste System - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2014, 09:01 AM   #1

Name: T
Trailer: Past Scamp Owner
Coastal Carolinas
Questions about Scamp Water/Waste System

I hope this is the right forum, but total novice here has a couple of newbie (aka idiot) questions about our Scamp systems. I'm sure I'm going to use the wrong language describing all this, so please bear with me! And feel free to educate/correct/scold me.

Just picked up our 1990 Scamp 16' w/ bath on Sunday, and I'm a bit confused about our new Scamp and its systems. I have been crawling all over, under and inside of this beautiful baby, and I *think* I have most of it figured out. Here are the bits I am confused about...

1) It seems a little different from most RVs from what I remember from my childhood... Our Scamp seems to have a separate gray and black water hose valve, so you have to hook up and dump each one separately. Is this correct?

2) I'm assuming I only fill the fresh water tank (labeled "fresh water connection") if we are NOT hooking up to city water with a hose (labeled "city water connection"). Is this correct?

3) And here is where I am really confused... the black on/off water pump switch inside... Below I've included a photo of the source of my confusion. (I'm in the Scamper right now, it's just sitting here staring at me, daring me to do some damage with it.)

It seems I remember from past days of RV camping with grandparents that you run this (turn this on) only if you are running the water, flushing toilet, etc, when you are either on battery or parked totally off the grid (no battery)???

The Scamp YouTube video seems to say to turn it on all the time, whenever you are using the water systems. I thought if you were running hooked up to full electric, you don't need it?