Scamp 16 - Dometic AC Help - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2020, 01:01 PM   #1

Name: Elizabeth
Trailer: 2011 - Scamp 16
Texas
Scamp 16 - Dometic AC Help

Howdy!
I am new to Scamp trailers. I have admired them for many years! Finally... after years of dreaming and saving, I was blessed with my first scamp trailer a few week ago. I am in Texas and many RV repair shops are not familiar with this brand, I need to replace the AC unit but I am concerned that during the installation they may damage the fiberglass trailer.

Also, I called scamp and they said I can purchase the Dometic unit anywhere here in Texas to avoid high shipping costs.

I would appreciate advice from all of you.

Many thanks,

Elizabeth
estackhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 09:14 AM   #2

Name: Kirk and Jeannie
Trailer: Scamp 16 layout 6
Kansas
Registry
Scamp 16 - Dometic AC Help

Elizabeth - The AC on our 2012 Scamp16 died while on a trip. Camping World replaced it in just a few hours. The new Dometic AC works well and there are no leaks. The footprint of the AC is a little different, so I need to clean up some dirt of the roof, but otherwise the folks at Camping World had no problems installing the replacement. I hope that this helps.
mcclurekirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 09:41 AM   #3

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
I wonder if Casita would be willing to do the install.. they are in Texas and the campers are very similar.
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 10:23 AM   #4

Texas
Thank you very much, I appreciate your help!
Elizabeth
Old 08-01-2020, 11:51 AM   #5

Trailer: 2000 Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
What exactly is the problem with your air conditioner?

--Dan Meyer
Dan Meyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 02:45 PM   #6

Texas