Scamp fridge compartment terminal block troubleshooting - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2021, 12:18 AM   #1

Name: Scampa
Trailer: Scamp
Massachusetts
Scamp fridge compartment terminal block troubleshooting

Hey all,

The previous owner of my 2013 13' scamp wired a voltmeter+USB-port into the scamp's fridge-compartment 12v terminal block. After a few months of owning it, the voltmeter went offline and I noticed a loose wire in the outside fridge compartment.

I will be the first one to admit I am a novice with electrical systems, but I am trying to learn. This seemed like a really simple fix where I just had to slightly unscrew the "port" on the terminal block, insert the wire, and screw down tightly to hold the wire in place. That's what I did (see red wire in attached picture)... no luck, voltmeter still isn't working. In the process I managed to break the plastic fuse holder that's wired into the voltmeter, so I have to replace that first.

But any advice for troubleshooting literally placing a wire back into this 12v terminal block? Or troubleshooting the terminal block in general?

I tried this fix without disconnecting the battery. Was that a dumb move?

Thank you in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0473.jpg  
Scampa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 10:07 PM   #2

Name: Jack
Trailer: Scamp 13
Massachusetts
Max,
The volt meter would go across the terminal strip, but it's difficult to tell what wire is what and a sharper picture would help.

Label the wires so we can tell you which go where.
Lockman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2021, 11:12 PM   #3

Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lockman View Post
Max,
The volt meter would go across the terminal strip, but it's difficult to tell what wire is what and a sharper picture would help.