U-Haul CT13 Taillights Issue: - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2017, 10:06 AM   #1

Name: Gary
Trailer: UHaul CT13
Iowa
U-Haul CT13 Taillights Issue:

Electrical Question:
Long ago now, I swapped my broken taillights for assemblies from a mid-80s GM pickup.
I've just revisited my camper wiring--the running lights/brakes/turn-lights side of things. Turns out my initial configuration wasn't working well at all.
Since I'm NOT an electrician... and since I'd used a 5-way connector instead of the more-common 4-way setup... I decided to forget about MAYBE wiring up the reverse lights someday, and just use that bulb for a separate running light.

SO--I popped out my pickup's taillight fixture, and spliced into that wiring for accessing power & grounds for the new 5-way harness... then took the Curt converter box that I'd added on the camper out of play... and re-wired the camper taillights.
So now there's a separate positive lead for L & R turn signals, brakes, running lights... and one for ground.

All light functions work great when tested individually. Bright lights. BUT--when I have the brakes on, the turn signals on the camper no longer flash. [these 2 functions are coming from a shared, 2-filament bulb] The turn lights DO continue to flash on the pickup during this situation [brake + turn].

Any thoughts?

P.S. I also removed the clear lens over what was the reverse light, and patched in a red lens from part of a damaged lens I had. Also substituted the reverse [now running light] bulb, as I thought it was over-bright for a running light. Was a 1156 [26-Watt]... now a 1003 [12-Watt]. Still plenty bright.
Attached Thumbnails
17-1007 Re-wiring 01.jpg   17-1007 Re-wiring 02.jpg  

17-1007 Re-wiring 02a.jpg   17-1007 Re-wiring 03.jpg  

17-1007 Re-wiring 03a.jpg   17-1007 Re-wiring 04.jpg  

Old 10-07-2017, 10:16 AM   #2

Name: bob