Considering an Oliver for full-timing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2014, 10:08 AM   #1

Name: Ron
Trailer: 2015 Oliver Legacy Elite II - Hull #69
South Carolina
Considering an Oliver for full-timing

Hello!

I currently use my RV as lodgings for my out-of-town work. Generally, I spend the week in my RV and drive home (in my car) for the weekends. I leave my trailer at the campground and get a monthly spot. I've been doing this for several years and it's working out pretty well.

What is not working out is my 5th wheel trailer. I'm not exactly enamored with the quality of it, and it just seems too huge and full of junk I've accumulated and don't use.

So I'm considering downsizing to something high-quality, that can be ready to go just about anywhere (I never know in my business), is compact, and can withstand winter conditions.

I'm pretty impressed with the Oliver - the build quality, the compactness.
I like the batteries, solar, tank sizes, etc. The kitchen seems big enough, as does the bath. My biggest concern is insulation. Can it stay warm enough - all indications from what I read is yes, but there are no numbers to back any of it up (like R values).

Sorry my first post is so long. Some advice would be appreciated, as well as any tips for full-timing in a different style RV for me. Thanks!
Ron Merritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 10:11 AM   #2

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Where do you camp for the week? Generally in the South Carolina area I think you shouldn't have any problems/

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 10:26 AM   #3

South Carolina
No, that is home. Currently I'm near Pittsburg.
Old 10-02-2014, 10:42 AM   #4

Name: Rob
Trailer: Oliver Legacy Elite II, #70
Montana