Towing a Scamp 19 my experience - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2021, 09:12 PM   #1

Name: Tony
Trailer: 2015 19 Scamp DLX
British Columbia
Towing a Scamp 19 my experience

OK please let me apologize about invading other threads etc...I am not really good at all this computer stuff but I feel I should share my experience with the recent purchase of a 2015 Scamp 19 Deluxe?

I had a Scamp 16 D and Covid came along and I wanted to get something a bit more comfortable for my wife. A bigger washroom and a dedicated bed were two big ticket items. I found myself cruising the net and found a 19 deluxe that was in near new condition not to far from me. (I have been known to drive 500 miles to buy a dog or an old crappy boat with no engine)
I have rebuilt or fixed up several trailers over the years a Surfside 14 TM, A bigfoot camper, a Bigfoot 17 trailer a 16 foot Scamp and a bunch of other things like boats etc.

I live in British Columbia and I had my heart set on buying an Escape trailer, I believe the construction is top notch and much better engineered and designed than many other FRP Trailers... ( I called them there was a 2 year waiting list and that didn't work for me as a friend says "You only have so many trips left"

I sold the Scamp 16 and bought the pristine S 19 5er with only 1500 odd miles on it.

Well that was great, I Thought, I have a full size F250 Ford Diesel that can tow just about anything...

BOY WAS I WRONG... LOL

The rest of this "Blog" or whatever this is, is strictly my opinion.
Scamp trailers are great I have owned of fixed up several, but the "Scamp Trailer Hitch" system on this 19 D sucks big time! in my opinion is a serious lack of thought and imaginative engineering.