Cracked Trillium kitchenette- advice? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-18-2020, 09:48 AM   #1

Name: Mike
Trailer: 1976 Trillium 1300
Wolcott
Smile Cracked Trillium kitchenette- advice?

Hi, I am newly signed up here, but have viewed the site since purchasing our Trillium. I have been soaking up the advice and pictures on this site for a few years now, So thanks to all of you!

Mike and Maria in CO. We use our camper 3 seasons, generally primitive sites, fewer campgrounds, occasional drive by campings...

We've had our "Buttercup," as the previous owner named her, for 4 years now and love it, but have had to do some maintenence to keep her up.

The Rocky mountain backroads sure are rocky, and my tendency to look for secluded offroad camp spots with tricky access has taken its toll.

The latest: a crack in the corner of the kitchenette. I attached a photo.

I noticed the heater was not in it's usual place, upon removal of the cover, there were no screws holding the heater to face of the kitchenette, there are four obvious attachment points. One where the screw has blown through the fiberglass.

Our Dometic refridgerator and Duo therm heater both function well but do not look the best. Interior of the fridge metal is corroded, the plastic is disocolored a little, we just keep it clean.

I am looking for advice on whether to go full kitchen remodel with a new fridge and heater or repair the existing. My gut is telling me repairing the exisiting is going to be a ton less headache. I also like the patented phrase " keep it simple, keep it stock" or something like that from my 4wd ventures.
Another issue on remodelling the kitchen: is the stock configuration more valuable than a remodeled to some buyers?

To add, we will likely be selling this beauty in the fairly near (post covid?) future. Thoughts on whether we'd get our money out of new appliances?