1988 Bigfoot B19 - Purchase gone wrong - electrical issue - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-28-2020, 07:10 AM   #1

Name: Marc
Trailer: Bigfoot
Nova Scotia
1988 Bigfoot B19 - Purchase gone wrong - electrical issue

Hello everyone, Rv newbie here,

Having research Rv's, truck camper and off road trailer to the bitter end and having come to the conclusion that I have to haul my wife, kid and husky with me, I figure we would go no where with a rooftop tent or truck bed set up... so I decided on buying a fiberglass Rv to avoid most RV problems..... well let me tell you about my buying experience.

So I had only gone to look at a 1975 thrillium rebuilt before and stumbled on this bigfoot add and was lucky enough that the previous buyer didn't buy it site unseen so I thought.

I went to look at it, everything was going good and everythig worked then we hear his wife yelling smoke is coming out the top. Ran around figure its coming from the fridge vent scramble a screw driver and open it the 120 volt plug is smoking and melting... but the rv is not plugged in to shore power only battery and truck power... unplug it smoke settle and thankfully no fire. The cable was partly melted all the way to the fridge... the owner now scrambling to figure out the cause check the rear running light he rewire last night, no link to that. Meanwhile I just continue with my buying check list I printed from this site. Then we try the fridge on propane and 12 volt and it appears to still work on those. I get the price down a bit and buy it anyway.