Questions for burro owners??????? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2013, 03:44 PM   #1

Name: Ray
Trailer: flagstaff
Missouri
Questions for burro owners???????

Hey all,

I am still on the hunt for a fg camper trailer. I am taking the day off Friday and I'm going to look at a 17' widebody burro and a 19ft scamp fifth wheel camper.

Here are my questions and concerns for you experienced Burro owners.

1. This 17' burro has no heater of any kind. Is it hard to install one of the propane furnace in this type of trailer? Yes we are handy enough. My dad is a machinist, my brother a mechanic and I am an artist and and wood worker who has built a couple fg boats. To me it looks like simply buying the furnace and thermostat, find a cabinet or cubby it fits into, cutting a hole to fit the furnace vent and installing and then hooking up the propane supply and wiring the thermostat. Is there anything to it beyond that I may be missing?

I almost forgot vent it so the co can get out.

2. Since this burro has no heat or AC it leads me to ask if they are insulated in any way at all? Do they have any kind of insulation in them that would be any benefit if I did add heat and ac?

3. This burro has an ice box. I'm not totally against the idea of an icebox. I plan to use this off grid a lot anyway and I figure the cost of buying a block of ice a couple times a week vs the cost of propane for a 2 way fridge will probably be a toss up. My concern is are they effective? What are the experiences and impressions of an ice box from some of you who have used them?

THanks in advance for the info. Hopefully, I will be pulling home my first fg camper Friday evening.

Ray
Ray Cover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:56 PM   #2

Name: Shelley
Trailer: Burro
North Carolina
Registry