What material/fabric/carpet is best for covering interior walls of Boler? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2018, 10:44 PM   #1

Name: Tyler
Trailer: Boler
British Columbia
What material/fabric/carpet is best for covering interior walls of Boler?

Hi! Loooooong time lurker, first time poster. I have a 1975 boler that my wife and I have been camping in for about 6 years now. We had a baby 18 months ago, and are looking forward to some fun adventures this summer, but the boler is in need of some modifications to suit the new addition....so, yesterday I woke up and gutted the inside just down to the ensolite (haven't decided if I'll try to replace that yet, that's another discussion).

I'm wondering what type of fabrics people have used for covering the interior walls? We've been researching marine carpet, automotive carpet, and also just rolls of felt or other materials. Can anyone recommend anything? Are there any no-nos when it comes to which material to choose?
PistachioGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 06:57 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
You did well to leave the Ensolite in place. Its sound deadening and insulating properties cannot be easily replicated with any other material. Clean it well, glue any loose spots, remove the T-molding, and caulk the seams along with any other voids. Then...

You can prime and paint for a smooth, wipeable surface, but since you seem to want a softer finish material, I'd recommend marine headliner. There are different kinds, but some are like thin carpet without a backing, lightweight and a little stretchy, making it easier to fit the corners. Intended for marine applications, it's durable, non-absorbent, mold resistant, spot cleanable, and available in a variety of colors and textures.