Buying a Scamp—Questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 12-08-2020, 11:50 AM   #1

Name: Loulou
Trailer: Shopping
California
Buying a Scamp—Questions

Hi all, I’ve been researching campers for several years and finally decided that a SCAMP 13’ will best meet my needs. I’ve learned so much from this community, so I first just want to shout out a huge Thank You! to all who generously offer their experience, wisdom and suggestions.

I have a few questions.

I want to buy a Deluxe with those beautiful birch cabinets. Will More fussing be required to maintain their condition? One reviewer discouraged getting wooden cabinets because they are more likely to be damaged by moisture. Really??? Are there other downsides I should be aware of aside from cost and a little more weight?

I’m deciding between front dinette and bunk beds. I’ll be leaving the back dinette area set up as a bed, so want the functionality of dinette in front for the occasional inside meal and regular evening workspace. I want a choice that will give me most functional flexibility in the front. If I got the front dinette, can it be modified (either factory or after the fact) to a temporary bed in the rare cases I might have my niece with me? If I got the bunk option (I wouldn’t use top bunk), is there a solution for installing a functional and stable flip up table? Or maybe I just get a lightweight aluminum table to put in front of couch? What would you do?