Want to replace the Ice Box in my U-haul with fridge - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2011, 04:07 PM   #1

Name: Christina
Trailer: 85 U-Haul
Colorado
Want to replace the Ice Box in my U-haul with fridge

Hi all,

We are newby owners of an 85 U-haul 13 ct and we would like to replace the ice box with a dorm fridge. I am very new to doing these things myself but am a quick learner and would like advice to get me started! Has anyone with a U-haul replaced the ice box with a fridge? Can we get by with a dorm fridge without having to do electrical upgrades? Will we need an inverter? Any help that anyone can provide would be very much appreciated!!!!

Thanks,
Christina
Christina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:19 PM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Christina, I see this is your first post... so, welcome to FiberglassRV. I'm not a U-Haul owner, nor have I replaced the frig in my trailer with a dorm frig... I just wanted to welcome you!
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:25 PM   #3

Trailer: 16 ft U-Haul VT
Registry
Christina,

Welcome to the Uhaul family! We have the larger Uhaul. I cannot help you with specifics, but I can tell you that we have one of the larger dorm refrigerators in our Uhaul. It was installed when we got it. We also do not run off battery, so that is not an issue. Others will have to provide the specifics.

CindyL
CindyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:36 PM   #4

Name: jim
Trailer: 2022 Escape19 pulled by 2014 Dodge Ram Hemi Sport
Pennsylvania
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christina View Post
Hi all,