Trying to decide between a Scamp and a Casita - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-11-2016, 12:35 PM   #1

Name: Charles E
Trailer: Looking for a Casita
Texas
Trying to decide between a Scamp and a Casita

Hi, I am new here and I am looking to purchase a Casita or Scamp. Does anyone have any idea what the market share percentages look like between the two companies.

I see a lot of used Casita's for sale but for some reason not a lot of Scamps.

I am leaning toward a 16' Scamp because I have a Ford Escape and I like the interior height of the Scamp.

Since I am new to this I am amazed at this market and how hard it is to purchase new (6-7 month lead times) and how the prices hold up for used ones. But I suppose that's good news for resale.

Thanks

Charles
charleserwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2016, 12:54 PM   #2

Name: Lyle
Trailer: Scamp 16, previously Scamp 13
None
I do believe that Casita has a somewhat larger market share overall. However, it depends a lot on where you are. Since Casitas are built and sold in Texas, I assume that is why you see more Casitas on the used market near you. Scamps are built and sold in Minnesota, so up here in the upper midwest, Scamps prevail by quite a large percentage.

Both are great, and I wouldn't necessarily discount one over the other. Scamps do tend to be somewhat lighter, however, so if that is a critical issue it could sway your decision. Plus, since in a Scamp many of the features are options, it is possible to get a more stripped down version for a somewhat cheaper cost. Equally configured, however, they are very similarly priced.

Personally, I like the "rat fur" over the carpeting, but could get used to the latter.