Advice for buying a Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Money Matters
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-24-2019, 12:19 PM   #1

Name: Josie
Trailer: Scamp
Colorado
Advice for buying a Scamp

Hello all! Looking for some advice and wisdom. I'm completely new to the world of travel trailers and am considering purchasing a 13 ft Scamp we found. It's a 1978 sofa floorplan that's been completely renovated. I loved it the second I walked into it. I'm 5'2" so it just seemed like my perfect, cozy little happy place. I want to get it but have some concerns and feel like I just need to educate myself a bit before jumping in. Hoping you can answer some questions and help me out. TIA

1. A 40 year old trailer seems crazy old but it seems to be in great condition. No noticeable damage to the fiberglass, new axle, windows in good condition, has brakes. Anything I should know about 1970s Scamps or be looking for? Are the old ones actually lighter? The new ones seem identical so what changed?

2. I'm not sure if the price is correct. He's asking $9,500 but has added a ton of amenities that I don't know the value of. (No fiberglass damage or leaks that I'm aware of, new axle, ok tires, brakes, refrigerator, microwave, ac, propane heater, propane tank, water heater, water pump, stove and sink in great condition, tv, BluRay, antenna, bunk bed wood is missing, sofa needs new pads, cover and boot, porta potty, outdoor shower hookup, etc)