Surfside fibreglass leak - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-03-2021, 05:17 AM   #1

Name: Jason
Trailer: Currently Shopping
Newfoundland
Surfside fibreglass leak

I discovered a small leak in my trailer last night, right below the belly band. I can’t seem to see a hole or crack, either inside or out, but when it rains a small drip forms on the inside and runs down the wall, see photo. I’ve never tried repairing fibreglass, but I was going to give it a go with a small patch repair kit. My question is, should I drill a hole through the wall and then patch, or can I simply leave the wall as is and apply some new glass to the inside face of the wall? If you have any other suggestions please let let know. Ima complete beginner when it comes to FG work.
JasonGill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 05:27 AM   #2

Name: John
Trailer: 1979 Boler 1700
Michigan
Registry
Jason, your photo didn't show up.

If the inside surface of the trailer that you are attempting to repair is polyester resin, you can repair it without addressing the outside surface. If there is a structural crack, apply layers of fiberglass cloth or mat to the interior surface soaked in polyester resin. The surface must first be ground or sanded and cleaned. Read manufacturer's directions.
John in Michigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 06:58 PM   #3

Newfoundland