HI Im new and just bought a 88 Casita 13' - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-08-2021, 10:52 AM   #1

Name: Angela :)
Trailer: 1988 Casita 13' Deluxe
West Virginia and Texas
HI Im new and just bought a 88 Casita 13'

Hello

I am excited to be a new owner of a 1988 Casita Deluxe 13'. It needs TLC and Im trying not to be discouraged. I am new to Casitas but been a long time Rver, full time for over 12 years but now have a stick house and some land.

So currently I know the floor needs replacing, its not terrible and it is road worthy but needs to be done eventually. So far I was told everything works but I have not checked yet. soon.

The finish is my biggest current concern, I think its dull and looks painted. When I touch the surface it feels like orange peel. So I am really trying not to be totally bummed out about what it would take to ever get it shiny again and does that even really matter in the end? Im getting under to look at frame today.
High Glass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2021, 12:17 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
For very old and very weathered gelcoat, people seem to be getting the best results with Zep high gloss floor wax. Depending on climate and storage people are getting 1-2 years between applications, possibly more if you have indoor storage.

There are numerous old threads on the prep, application, and removal process. be sure to use the "site search/google" option at the bottom of the search menu for best results.