1974 Surfside - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-05-2017, 09:43 PM   #1

Name: Karen
Trailer: '74 Surfside TM14
Manitoba
1974 Surfside

Hey there all,

I'm new to the scene and would really like all the advice possible on how to repair the sagging door on my 1974 Surfside. I just bought it and it appears that someone tried to fix the screws in the hinges with drywall anchors.im not even sure if they hinges are original or not. Obviously that didn't work. So now I'm wondering a few things:

What is in the frame of the door? Is there a wood frame inside the fiberglass? Do I need to open up the inside frame and add/replace the wood. What hinges work best? Should I fiberglass over the old hinge holes and go from there?

I'm sure you get the picture here. I would appreciate any and all advice. Thank you!
Schark2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2017, 10:17 PM   #2

Name: Dave
Trailer: Casita SD17 2006 "Missing Link"
California
Welcome to FGRV Karen. A few pics of your problem areas would get better answers......keeps us from guessing .
Borrego Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 08:55 AM   #3

Manitoba
Pictures

Good morning

I have uploaded pictures of the problem. I hope they give you enough information. Let me know if you can't open them. Thank very much!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2688.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	118.5 KB
ID:	109868

Name:	IMG_2689.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	132.1 KB
ID:	109869

Name:	IMG_2691.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	205.0 KB
ID:	109870

Name:	IMG_2692.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	140.5 KB
ID:	109871
Old 08-06-2017, 09:21 AM   #4

Name: Jim and Kathie
Trailer: 1979 Surfside
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schark2017 View Post
Hey there all,