Trillium 1300 braking system - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2019, 12:18 PM   #1

Name: Lisa
Trailer: In the market
New Jersey
Trillium 1300 braking system

Hi! We have a Subaru Ascent and are hopefully buying a 1975 Trillium 1300 this week. It does not have a braking system. I'm not sure of the weight of the vehicle but does anyone use this without a braking system? We would need to drive it home without one (around 2 hours, major highways).

Sorry I'm a total newbie with this stuff!! Thank you!
lisakmoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 01:21 PM   #2

Name: John
Trailer: 1979 Boler 1700
Michigan
Registry
To be safe, trailer brakes are strongly recommended. For the Trillium, if it has brakes, they would be electric. Look for cast iron brake drums behind the wheels and a 7 blade connector on the tongue. Then you need to have a 7 blade connector near your hitch receiver and install a brake controller on the dashboard or center console that is accessible to the driver.

If the Trillium doesn't have brakes, it is possible to add them if the axle has a square plate with four bolt holes behind each wheel.
John in Michigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 11:46 AM   #3

Name: George
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Registry
Lisa, there are several issues that you brought up and the first one is what is your tow vehicle towing capacity? That should be in the manual or available from the dealer. To tow an empty trailer like the 13 ft Trillium you should not need brakes, but you do need lights if driving at night and when the tow vehicle brakes come on. You can overcome this with the magnetic lights used by tow trucks that are available from auto parts stores but still require the correct connector on tow vehicle and proper installation on the trailer back bumper.
jokra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 12:13 PM   #4