Greetings from Alberta - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-14-2019, 09:02 AM   #1

Name: Fred
Trailer: Biggar
Alberta
Greetings from Alberta

Technically, I'm out of province for a month, but Alberta is home. Apologies in advance for the long intro.

I'm a freelance carpenter and often spend half my year on the roads. I take the family (wife & 3 teens) as much as possible.

We have done the air B&B thing, lived out of rental units and hotels and once had a 30' smooth wall trailer. Being unaware of what to look for, the ripples in the walls and tar on the roof seams held little significance for me...

It's taken me a couple years to get over throwing out that trailer. It has kind of soured me on smooth wall trailers. I've been eyeballing the Bolers & Bigfoot since then, but they can be pricey (and small for my needs). I've had a stick built project with rotten corners for a couple years and have yet to make time to reconstruct it.

So last week I bought a 1978 Biggar off kijij! Sight unseen, but I did have a family member verify it existed and take possession for me.

The previous owner was gifted it from his father in law 15 years ago. His estimate was that it had gone camping less than a dozen times in the last 25 years. While waiting to sell it this year he redid the flooring, got the lights and appliances working and replaced the bearings.

Other than the flooring, interior and exterior are original. I've been reading through what other members have been doing with their eggs and look forward to making modifications over time.

As it is, I hope that some new rubber and work around the openings will be enough to take me through this season. I intend to see how deep into the winter I can camp out at work. I appreciate the knowledge and enthusiasm members show on this forum.
Fred D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 07:03 AM   #2